Amazon

UPS Amazon Package Volume Shift: What It Means for Cross-Border Logistics

By JiuFang Logistics
August 22, 2026

The August 24 Logistics Report

The Motley Fool reported on August 24, 2026 that the handoff of a large volume of Amazon packages away from UPS was complete, citing a reduction of roughly two million packages per day carried by UPS and Amazon’s need to move that volume through its own delivery network or other arrangements.

Transport Topics had previously reported on July 30, 2026 that UPS described its plan to shed low-margin Amazon package volume as successful. The two reports point to a carrier-network change, not a universal change to Amazon seller fees, delivery promises or international shipping rates.

Why the UPS-Amazon Shift Matters

Large marketplace operators can change how parcels are injected, sorted and delivered. That can affect the balance between retailer-controlled delivery, national parcel carriers, regional carriers and third-party logistics providers. The exact effect on a seller depends on the fulfillment program, destination, service level and contract.

Sellers should avoid assuming that a change in Amazon’s U.S. parcel network automatically changes the international leg from China. Ocean, air, customs clearance, domestic injection and final-mile delivery remain separate planning decisions.

Implications for China-Based Sellers

For a China-to-US shipping program, delivery resilience may be more important than choosing a single familiar carrier. Sellers should ask their forwarder or fulfillment provider which domestic delivery partners are used after import clearance and how tracking, claims and returns are handled.

The reports do not establish a new Amazon FBA fee, transit time, carrier surcharge or eligibility rule. Any rate or service change must be confirmed in the seller’s current contract, booking platform or marketplace account.

How to Review a Shipping Plan

  • Separate international freight from U.S. domestic parcel delivery in the landed-cost model.
  • Check whether the fulfillment provider has more than one last-mile option.
  • Compare tracking quality, claims handling and returns routing, not only the quoted price.
  • Review service performance by ZIP code, product size and peak-season period.
  • Confirm the delivery promise shown to customers matches the actual fulfillment setup.

The same framework applies to Canada, the UK, the EU and Australia, but each destination has different customs, tax, carrier and returns conditions.

Sources

 
 

Amazon Prime Air Expands Toward 500 U.S. Cities in 2026

By JiuFang Logistics
August 20, 2026

The August 19 Announcement

Amazon said on August 19, 2026 that Prime Air drone delivery is expanding to nearly 500 U.S. cities and towns during 2026. The announcement was reported by About Amazon, with ABC News and other outlets also covering the expansion.

The development is a U.S. last-mile update. It does not change international freight, customs clearance or the requirements for a China-based seller to place inventory in the United States.

What Prime Air Changes

Prime Air adds a local delivery option for eligible lightweight packages from participating locations. Availability depends on the delivery address, product, operating area, weather, airspace and other safety conditions. It is not a replacement for Amazon’s wider parcel, FBA or carrier network.

For ecommerce logistics, the important distinction is between international line-haul and local fulfillment. A product still has to clear customs and reach a suitable U.S. inventory location before any local delivery method can be used.

Implications for Cross-Border Sellers

  • Position U.S. inventory near verified demand rather than assuming national drone coverage.
  • Keep conventional parcel delivery available for ineligible orders.
  • Use accurate product dimensions and shipping weight when evaluating delivery eligibility.
  • Model returns and failed deliveries through a ground-based process.
  • Separate China-to-US shipping time from the final-mile promise shown to customers.

Amazon’s network expansion may improve delivery options in supported areas, but sellers should rely on the live marketplace and fulfillment instructions for actual order eligibility.

Sources

 
 

AWD vs 3PL for Large Products

By JiuFang Logistics
August 11, 2026

The July 2026 AWD Event

Amazon Global Selling announced on July 11, 2026 that US AWD would stop accepting new oversize products from July 31. The notice states that each unit must be smaller than 18 x 14 x 8 inches and lighter than 20 pounds for new US AWD inbound. Existing oversize AWD inventory could continue replenishing FBA until depleted.

For large products, the update makes a 3PL comparison more important. It does not remove FBA, but it changes where reserve stock can sit before FBA replenishment.

AWD and 3PL Are Different Layers

AWD is Amazon’s inventory storage and distribution program. It is designed to move eligible reserve inventory into FBA. A 3PL is an independent warehouse that may store, inspect, prep, relabel, ship to multiple channels and process returns according to a seller’s contract.

Neither service should be described as a universal replacement for the other. AWD may simplify Amazon replenishment for eligible sortable units. A 3PL may offer more control for bulky, slow-moving, multi-channel or return-heavy products.

AWD vs 3PL Comparison

Planning comparison for large products
DimensionAWD3PL
Primary purposeAmazon reserve storage and distribution.Contracted storage and logistics operations.
Customer fulfillmentReplenishes FBA; FBA fulfills customer orders.May fulfill Amazon, DTC and other channel orders.
Large-product eligibilityUS new inbound threshold from July 31: under 18 x 14 x 8 inches and under 20 pounds.Varies by warehouse, equipment, contract and carrier.
ControlAmazon program workflow.Seller can negotiate operating procedures.
ReturnsFBA and Amazon return process apply where eligible.Can be configured for inspection, repair or resale.
Main riskProgram eligibility and limited marketplace flexibility.Handling quality, minimums, inventory accuracy and extra domestic movement.

Exact storage and handling rates are not publicly confirmed here and vary by marketplace, product and provider.

Which Model Fits?

Use AWD for eligible, repeat-demand inventory when Amazon replenishment simplicity is valuable. Consider a 3PL when a product is too large for new US AWD inbound, demand is uncertain, multiple channels need stock, or returns require inspection and refurbishment.

A hybrid can hold reserve inventory with a 3PL and send smaller batches into FBA. The seller should measure the extra handling and domestic freight against the storage and flexibility benefit.

Implications for China Sellers

Before China to US shipping begins, classify every ASIN and decide the reserve location. Include factory packing, international freight, customs, US drayage, 3PL storage, FBA inbound, FBA fees, returns and removal in one model. For Canada, the UK, the EU and Australia, verify local rules separately because the cited announcement is US-specific.

  1. Measure final unit dimensions.
  2. Request a 3PL quote with all handling and minimum charges.
  3. Check current Amazon AWD and FBA requirements.
  4. Set a reorder point that covers international and domestic lead time.

Sources

 
 

Amazon FBA Oversize Fees Explained

By JiuFang Logistics
August 10, 2026

Why the Topic Matters in 2026

Amazon’s July 11, 2026 notice changed the storage route available to some large-item sellers. From July 31, US AWD stopped accepting new units at or above 18 x 14 x 8 inches or 20 pounds. Amazon directed affected products to FBA, while existing oversize AWD inventory could continue replenishing FBA until depleted.

The change does not publish a single new global FBA oversize rate. Amazon’s FBA fee guidance remains the correct starting point, and the live marketplace fee schedule controls the actual charge.

How FBA Fee Tiers Work

Amazon states that FBA fulfillment fees are per-unit fees based on size and weight tiers. The measured product, packaging, category and marketplace can affect classification. Fees can change over time, so a historical calculator or a rate from another marketplace should not be treated as a current quote.

For China-based sellers, measure the final packaged unit and retain the calculation record. If dimensions are close to a boundary, model the higher tier until Amazon confirms the classification.

The Full Cost Stack

FBA oversize fees are only one part of ecommerce logistics. Add storage, inbound placement or related charges, international freight, customs, duties, US domestic transport, returns, removals and possible prep or relabeling. Exact amounts vary by marketplace and product; no universal 2026 fee is stated here.

Large units can also raise the cost of mistakes. A damaged carton, failed delivery attempt or uneconomic return may exceed the original fulfillment charge. Use contribution margin after logistics, not product price alone.

AWD and Oversize Inventory

AWD is an upstream storage and distribution service, while FBA fulfills customer orders. US AWD’s July 31 restriction means a seller cannot assume that a low-cost reserve-storage route will remain available for new oversize units. For affected products, compare direct FBA with a US 3PL and include the extra domestic movement from the 3PL.

A Seller Cost Model

Cost lines to compare for an oversized ASIN
Cost lineWhat to verify
Product dataFinal packaged dimensions and shipping weight.
International freightMode, cubic volume, origin, destination and service terms.
Amazon storageCurrent marketplace schedule and inventory age.
FBA fulfillmentCurrent size and weight tier for the ASIN.
Returns and removalsDomestic return handling and final disposition.

Run a base, slow-sales and peak-season scenario. A fee estimate marked “Not publicly confirmed” should not be used for a final margin decision.

How to Reduce Fee Risk

  1. Audit dimensions after final packaging.
  2. Test a lower-volume protective carton without compromising damage resistance.
  3. Send smaller batches while demand is uncertain.
  4. Compare FBA with a US 3PL before using large reserve inventory.
  5. Review the live fee schedule before each major replenishment.

Sources

 
 

China to US Shipping for Large Products: What Sellers Need to Change in 2026

By JiuFang Logistics
August 7, 2026

The Amazon AWD Change

China-based sellers shipping large products to the United States should plan for direct FBA or independent US storage rather than assuming Amazon AWD can hold reserve stock. In an Amazon Global Selling notice published July 11, 2026, Amazon said US AWD would stop accepting new oversize products from July 31. The notice states that each unit must be smaller than 18 x 14 x 8 inches and lighter than 20 pounds. A unit at or above any limit is not eligible for new US AWD inbound.

Amazon said affected large products should be sent directly to FBA. Existing oversize inventory in US AWD can continue replenishing FBA until depleted, and shipments created before July 31 remain accepted even if delivery occurs later. The notice applies to US AWD warehouses; it says GWD is not affected and that FBA capacity rules were unchanged.

This is a US warehouse-policy change, not a general suspension of China to US shipping. The practical effect is that the post-arrival storage plan must be decided before cargo leaves China.

Why Large-Product Shipping Is Different

Large products consume more cubic capacity at every stage: export cartons, containers, port handling, domestic trucking, overseas storage and final-mile delivery. Dimensional weight can also affect transport pricing, while damage and return costs are typically more difficult to control than for small parcels.

For a China to US shipping plan, the sellable unit, export carton, master carton and pallet should be measured separately. Amazon’s AWD threshold applies to the unit, so changing only the outer carton does not make an oversized product eligible for new US AWD inbound.

Demand timing matters as much as freight price. A seasonal product shipped too early can create months of US storage exposure. A product shipped too late can miss the selling window because large cargo often needs more booking, customs, drayage and appointment time.

FBA, AWD and US 3PL Options

Direct FBA: Inventory moves from China, or from a US staging location, into Amazon fulfillment centers. FBA then stores eligible products and fulfills customer orders. This is the route Amazon identified for affected large products, but sellers must follow the live FBA size, weight, prep, labeling and inbound-placement rules.

Amazon AWD: AWD is an upstream storage and distribution service, not the customer-order fulfillment layer. It remains relevant for eligible sortable inventory. For US units at or above the July 2026 threshold, new AWD inbound is no longer available under the cited notice.

US 3PL or overseas warehouse: A third-party warehouse can hold reserve stock, perform prep, consolidate orders or manage returns. It creates another handling relationship and domestic movement, so the seller should compare total landed cost rather than storage rent alone.

Sources

 
 

FBA Oversize Packaging Requirements: What Large-Item Sellers Need in 2026

By JiuFang Logistics
August 7, 2026

The July 2026 Amazon Update

FBA oversize packaging starts with the final packaged unit, and the latest Amazon AWD change makes that measurement more important for China-based sellers. Amazon’s Amazon Global Selling notice, published July 11, 2026, says US AWD would no longer accept new oversize products from July 31. The notice gives a US AWD eligibility threshold of smaller than 18 x 14 x 8 inches and lighter than 20 pounds per unit.

Amazon directed affected large products to FBA. Existing oversize inventory in US AWD can continue replenishing FBA until depleted, while shipments created before July 31 remain accepted even if delivered later. This does not mean every oversized product is automatically accepted into FBA. FBA has its own product, packaging, prep, labeling, capacity and fee rules.

The operational conclusion is simple: measure and package the sellable unit before deciding whether to send it to US FBA, a third-party warehouse or another marketplace fulfillment route.

Measure the Product Amazon Receives

Record the length, width, height and shipping weight of the product after the packaging that will reach Amazon. Keep separate records for the sellable unit, inner pack, master carton and pallet. Do not use a factory specification that excludes protective material if Amazon will measure the packaged unit.

Amazon size classifications and fee rules can vary by marketplace, category, product condition and time. The US AWD threshold in the July 11 notice is not a universal FBA threshold for all countries. When a dimension or weight is close to a boundary, use a conservative measurement and confirm the live Seller Central rule.

“Oversize” is an operational and fee classification, not a substitute for an acceptance decision. A product can be too large for a particular storage program, restricted by category, or subject to additional prep requirements.

FBA Oversize Packaging Checklist

  • Use packaging that protects the product from compression, impact, moisture and handling during international and domestic transport.
  • Remove loose parts and secure moving components so they cannot damage the product or escape from the carton.
  • Use clear product identification and ensure the FNSKU or other required label is scannable and placed according to the current Amazon instructions.
  • Keep carton contents, quantities, dimensions and weights consistent with the shipment plan.
  • Use pallets, straps or edge protection where the carrier, product or destination workflow requires them.
  • Test drop, vibration and compression performance appropriate to the product before scaling a China export shipment.

Amazon’s official packaging requirements page remains the controlling technical reference. The page’s publication date was not publicly confirmed in the available source record, so this article does not assign a new 2026 packaging dimension, carton limit or fee that the source does not state.

Cartons, Labels and Inbound Planning

For direct FBA, the seller must follow the current Send to Amazon workflow and the requirements shown for the destination marketplace and product. Shipment plans may require specific labels, carton data, prep steps, delivery appointments or placement choices. These operational details can change, so sellers should not rely on a saved template from an earlier shipment without checking the live workflow.

Large cartons need special attention at the handoff points between factory, forwarder, port, domestic carrier and Amazon. A mismatch between the physical carton and the shipment plan can create receiving delays, rework or unexpected cost. Photograph final cartons and keep a packing record tied to the ASIN and shipment ID.

For sellers using a 3PL, agree in writing on inspection, relabeling, repacking, palletization, Amazon appointment handling and return processing. The 3PL should not be treated as a substitute for checking Amazon’s current inbound requirements.

How Packaging Affects FBA Oversize Fees

Amazon’s official FBA fulfillment-fee guidance says fulfillment fees are charged per unit and depend on size and weight tiers. Final packaging affects the measured dimensions and shipping weight, so packaging design can affect the applicable fee tier and transport cost.

Exact FBA oversize fees are not stated here because the amount varies by marketplace, category, product dimensions, weight and the current fee schedule. Storage, inbound placement, aged inventory, returns and removal costs can also vary. A lighter carton is not automatically cheaper if it increases damage or return risk.

Build two packaging scenarios before production: the current protective design and a tested lower-volume design. Compare total landed cost, not only the carton purchase price. Any claimed 2026 fee or limit should be checked against the live marketplace fee page before use.

US, Canada, UK, EU and Australia Differences

The July 11 Amazon notice concerns US AWD warehouses. It does not establish identical FBA oversize packaging requirements for Canada, the UK, the EU or Australia. Each marketplace may have different size tiers, prep rules, carrier arrangements, taxes, product restrictions and returns processes.

For China to UK shipping, China to Canada shipping, China to EU shipping and China to Australia shipping, maintain separate requirement sheets. Confirm the destination marketplace’s current Seller Central guidance and the carrier’s large-parcel limits before dispatch.

Sources

 
 

Amazon AWD vs FBA Oversize: Which Option Is Better for Large-Item Sellers in 2026?

By JiuFang Logistics
August 6, 2026

The 2026 News Behind the Decision

For most large-item sellers, FBA oversize or a third-party warehouse is now the more practical route for US inventory. Amazon’s Amazon Global Selling notice, published July 11, 2026, says US Amazon Warehousing and Distribution (AWD) will accept standard-size products only from July 31. Each unit must be smaller than 18 x 14 x 8 inches and lighter than 20 pounds. A unit at or above any stated limit is not eligible for a new AWD inbound shipment.

The same notice says affected large items should be sent directly to FBA. Existing oversize stock in US AWD can continue replenishing FBA until depleted, and shipments created before July 31 remain accepted even if delivery occurs later. The notice also says the change applies to US AWD warehouses and does not affect GWD. Amazon said FBA capacity rules were unchanged in that notice.

This is the central point in the Amazon AWD vs FBA oversize decision: AWD is a reserve-storage and distribution layer, while FBA is the customer-order fulfillment network. They are related, but they are not interchangeable services.

What Is Amazon AWD?

Amazon AWD is Amazon warehousing and distribution for bulk inventory. Sellers send eligible units into AWD, where inventory can be stored and distributed to Amazon fulfillment centers as needed. The model is designed to support replenishment rather than to replace the final customer-order fulfillment function of FBA.

Amazon’s AWD product-requirements page sets the current product eligibility conditions. Because Amazon can update requirements by marketplace and product type, sellers should check the live Seller Central rules before booking cargo. The July 31 US change is especially important for Amazon large and bulky products that previously used AWD as a buffer.

What Is FBA Oversize?

Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) receives eligible inventory, stores it, and fulfills customer orders. FBA fulfillment for oversized items is governed by marketplace-specific size, weight, category, packaging, storage and fulfillment rules. “Oversize” is a classification for fee and operational purposes; it does not mean every large product is automatically accepted.

Amazon’s official FBA fulfillment-fee guidance says fees are charged per unit and depend on size and weight tiers. Exact FBA oversize fees vary by marketplace, category, dimensions, weight and the current fee schedule. No single global rate should be used for China to US shipping, China to UK shipping, Canada, EU or Australia planning.

Amazon AWD vs FBA Oversize: Key Differences

Operational comparison for large-item sellers in 2026
DimensionAmazon AWDFBA Oversize
Primary purposeBulk inventory storage and distribution to fulfillment centers.Customer-order storage, pick, pack, ship and post-order service.
Inventory locationAWD warehouses in the applicable marketplace network.Amazon fulfillment centers serving customer demand.
Customer order fulfillmentNot the primary customer-order fulfillment service; inventory replenishes FBA.FBA fulfills eligible customer orders.
Oversize eligibilityUS new inbound after July 31, 2026: unit must be smaller than 18 x 14 x 8 inches and lighter than 20 pounds. Other marketplaces may vary.Subject to the live FBA size, weight, category and packaging rules. Varies by marketplace and product.
Storage costsAWD storage and applicable service charges; exact amount varies by marketplace, product and current schedule.FBA storage charges and any applicable aged-inventory or other fees; exact amount varies by marketplace and time.
Fulfillment and delivery costsDoes not replace FBA fulfillment and last-mile charges.Per-unit fulfillment fees plus applicable delivery and other program charges.
Inbound shipping considerationsUS AWD now rejects new units at or above the stated size or weight threshold.Direct FBA shipment planning must follow Send to Amazon, carton, labeling and placement instructions.
Replenishment processAWD distributes eligible reserve stock into FBA based on the program’s replenishment process.Seller sends new inventory directly to FBA or through another storage provider.
Returns handlingNot the primary customer-return destination; FBA and the seller’s return arrangements apply.Amazon’s FBA returns process applies where the product and marketplace are eligible.
Best use casesSortable, repeat-demand inventory that meets current AWD eligibility rules.Eligible large items requiring Amazon customer fulfillment, or inventory that cannot use US AWD.
Main risks for China-based sellersIneligibility, extra handling, cross-border replenishment delays and overstocked reserve inventory.Higher cubic-volume exposure, capacity constraints, inbound-placement costs and costly returns.

Where Amazon has not publicly confirmed a universal amount or rule, the comparison uses “Varies by marketplace and product.” Sellers should treat the table as a planning framework, not a fee quote.

Storage, Shipping and Fulfillment Cost Considerations

AWD can reduce the need to place all reserve inventory in customer-facing fulfillment centers, but it adds a distribution layer. A seller must model AWD storage, movement into FBA, FBA storage and customer-order fulfillment together. For a large product, the value of reserve storage depends on demand predictability, cubic volume and the number of replenishment movements.

Direct FBA avoids an AWD-to-FBA replenishment step, but it does not make a large item inexpensive to store or deliver. FBA oversize fees depend on the product’s measured dimensions and shipping weight under the applicable marketplace schedule. FBA capacity, inbound placement, storage duration and returns can materially change the total landed cost. Exact 2026 figures are not stated here because a universal fee table was not publicly confirmed for all requested markets.

For China to US shipping and other routes, the cost model should include factory packing, export handling, international freight, customs and duties, destination drayage, overseas storage, domestic trucking, FBA inbound transport, Amazon fees and returns. Comparing only the China freight rate with the AWD storage rate can produce a misleading result.

Packaging and Inbound Logistics for Large Items

Measure the sellable unit after final packaging, not from a product specification sheet. Record length, width, height and shipping weight for each ASIN, then keep carton dimensions and pallet data separately. The US AWD threshold is applied to the unit, so changing the master carton does not cure an ineligible product.

Before dispatch, verify the current Seller Central inbound workflow, labels, carton limits, prep requirements and destination instructions. Bulky products also need a damage-resistant packaging plan, clear dimensional data and a return route that does not depend on sending every unit back to China.

Which Option Fits Different Sellers?

Sortable, repeat-demand products: Amazon AWD may fit sellers whose units remain below the current US threshold and whose demand supports reserve inventory. AWD is most useful as part of a replenishment system, not as a standalone customer fulfillment channel.

Large and bulky products: Direct FBA may be appropriate when Amazon accepts the product and sales volume justifies the storage and fulfillment cost. A US 3PL or overseas warehouse may be better for slower-moving goods, complex prep, multi-channel orders or returns.

New or unpredictable products: Start with smaller inventory commitments and test demand before placing large volumes in any US storage network. The best option can change as sales velocity, dimensions, seasonality and return rates change.

Recommendations for China-Based Sellers

  1. Audit every US-bound ASIN against the July 31 AWD limit: under 18 x 14 x 8 inches and under 20 pounds per unit.
  2. Separate sortable and oversized SKUs in the China export plan. Do not book new oversize units to US AWD.
  3. Build a landed-cost sheet with China freight, customs, overseas storage, FBA inbound, FBA oversize fees, delivery and returns as separate lines.
  4. Use demand forecasts to set smaller direct-FBA batches for bulky products and retain reserve stock with a 3PL when Amazon storage exposure is too high.
  5. Confirm each marketplace’s current Amazon rules before shipping to the US, Canada, UK, EU or Australia. The US AWD announcement does not establish identical rules for other marketplaces.

Sources

 
 

Amazon Receives $600 Million in Tariff Refunds

By JiuFang Logistics
August 6, 2026

Amazon Recovers About $600 Million

Amazon said the payment represents a significant majority of the tariff refunds it expects to receive. The company had paid the duties when it served as importer of record for certain goods entering the United States.

The refund does not mean every product sold on Amazon generated a recoverable charge. Amazon said vendors are the importer of record for most merchandise sold in its store, while third-party sellers and their logistics partners may hold that role for other shipments.

Customer Refunds Are Limited

Amazon plans automatic customer refunds only in a limited set of cases. The company must be able to trace a specific tariff cost and confirm that the cost was passed through to the customer. Amazon said it will contact eligible customers directly.

Amazon also said it absorbed tariff costs in most cases instead of raising consumer prices. Remaining refund proceeds are expected to support customer benefits, including lower product prices, rather than broad automatic repayments.

What China-Based Sellers Should Know

Amazon’s recovery is not an automatic tariff refund for China-based sellers. Eligibility depends on who acted as importer of record, which customs entries paid the invalidated duties and whether the applicable claim or protest procedures were preserved.

Sellers should identify the importer of record on each affected entry and reconcile entry summaries, duty statements, broker records and Amazon settlements. They should not promise customers or business partners a refund based only on Amazon’s announcement.

For future China-to-US shipments, landed-cost models should separate product cost, freight, brokerage and duty. Clear records make it easier to establish who paid a tariff and who may claim a refund when US trade rules change.

Sources

 
 

Amazon Ads Billing Shift Takes Effect for Selected Advertisers

By JiuFang Logistics
August 3, 2026

New Default Billing Starts August 1

Amazon announced the update in April and deferred implementation to August 1 after advertiser feedback. The company emphasized that the change does not apply to every Amazon seller or advertiser.

Affected businesses that did not choose a preferred option before implementation will have their default payment method updated automatically. Charges and credits are then processed through the available seller or vendor account balance.

Account Balance, Invoice and Backup Cards

Amazon said eligible advertisers may select Pay by Invoice in the Billing section of the advertising console. Under that option, Amazon issues an invoice at the end of each month and payment is due within 30 days.

Existing credit or debit cards remain on file as backup payment methods. Amazon can use the backup if the account balance is insufficient, helping prevent an interruption to active advertising campaigns.

What China-Based Sellers Should Review

China-based sellers should first confirm whether Amazon sent a direct notice. Accounts outside the selected group should not assume their billing method has changed.

Affected sellers need to revise cash-flow forecasts because advertising costs may reduce the balance available for disbursement. That can narrow the cash available for manufacturing deposits, China-to-US freight, customs charges and FBA replenishment even when campaign spending stays unchanged.

Finance teams should review billing settings, backup cards, invoice eligibility and account-level reports. Advertising costs should also be reconciled against seller-balance deductions so the same expense is not recorded twice.

The update changes advertising payment timing, not Amazon FBA shipping or customs rules. Its logistics impact is indirect: lower or less predictable disbursements can affect when sellers fund production and international shipments.

Sources

 
 

Amazon AWD Stops Accepting Oversize Inventory After July 31

By JiuFang Logistics
August 3, 2026

AWD Returns to Sortable Inventory

Amazon’s AWD product requirements state that the service now accepts sortable items smaller than 18 by 14 by 8 inches and weighing less than 20 pounds. A unit that reaches or exceeds the stated size or weight limits is not eligible for new AWD inbound shipments.

The restriction applies to the product unit, not simply the master carton. Repacking several units into different export cartons will not make an oversize ASIN eligible if the individual product exceeds Amazon’s threshold.

AWD and FBA serve different functions. AWD holds bulk reserve inventory and automatically replenishes FBA, while FBA stores sellable stock and fulfills customer orders. Oversize sellers have lost the lower-cost AWD buffer, not access to FBA itself.

Existing Oversize Stock Can Still Feed FBA

Industry reporting based on Amazon’s seller notice says oversize inventory already stored in AWD can continue replenishing FBA according to demand until that stock is depleted. Standard AWD storage charges continue to apply while those units remain in the network.

New oversize replenishment cannot refill that AWD position. Sellers should confirm how Amazon will handle shipments already in transit and slow-moving units through their own Seller Central notices before taking action.

What China-Based Sellers Should Change

China-based sellers should identify affected ASINs before booking the next US shipment. New oversize inventory can be sent directly to FBA through Send to Amazon, but quantities need tighter control because bulky products consume more cubic space and can generate higher storage costs.

A US third-party warehouse is another option for reserve stock, with smaller replenishment batches sent into FBA. Sellers should compare storage, handling, domestic transport and Amazon inbound costs instead of comparing warehouse rates alone.

International freight and customs requirements have not changed. The practical change occurs after US arrival: oversize stock can no longer use AWD as the staging layer. Shipment plans should therefore separate sortable and oversize SKUs before cargo leaves China.

Sources